You’re in Hawaii?!

Aloha!

Yes, I have moved to Hawaii for the next six weeks. No, I am not doing the program a Hawaii organization recently introduced to help boost the economy and bring remote work to the state (I’ve been asked this a few times). Now, the only reason I’m not is because I already planned this trip when that came out, but I HIGHLY recommend you check it out if you have the flexibility with work. The organization Movers and Shakas, not only has the greatest name ever, but is offering work space (guys, you could work in a treehouse. I’m not saying this almost swayed me to cancel our current accommodation plans and make new ones.. but Im not, not saying that..), discounted hotel rates and potentially free flights. All for the low cost of volunteering your time during the week to local organizations, which in my opinion is incredible. I love giving back and think this is a great program. Check. It. Out. Don’t have a remote job? Want one? Check out Upwork.

OK, PSA over.

Back to my current situation. During this entire pandemic I’ve thought a lot about how nice it would be to work remotely somewhere new and Hawaii consistently was at the top of that list – so what started as a casual ‘what if’ conversation with my friend Maggie, quickly escalated into looking at multiple different airbnbs and booking flights. 

To be honest, I didn’t think this would happen. But here we are – and I am beyond excited. Also, grateful. The ability to work remotely is something my job allowed me to do – I will work my typical hours, just doing it from an island. Can’t wait to spend my nights and weekends exploring a new culture, eating all the food, and embarking on some fun new adventures. 

I’ll leave you with my first Hawaii pic outside our balcony – what a view. Stay tuned for more updates as we go!

Leave a comment